STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

CX-89-1863

Order Establishing Supreme Court Advisory Committee on General Rules of Practice

ORDER

WHEREAS, on October 24, 1989, this Court, pursuant to inherent and statutory authority set forth in Minnesota Statutes, sections 480.05 and 480.0595, appointed the Uniform Local Rules Task Force to examine existing local rules of practice and to recommend rules and procedures that will promote uniformity of practice in the trial courts; and

WHEREAS, the Task Force considered, recommended and submitted proposed General Rules of Practice for the District Courts together with proposed amendments to various rules governing the district courts, including the Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules of Decorum, Code of Rules, Civil Trialbook, Probate Rules, Rules of Family Court Procedure, Rules for Conciliation Courts, and Local Rules for each of the ten judicial districts; and

WHEREAS, after a public hearing on the proposed rules, the court, on September 5, 1991, issued its order promulgating the Minnesota General Rules of Practice and related district court rules amendments to become effective January 1, 1992; and

WHEREAS, establishment of an oversight committee is necessary to maintain and promote uniformity of practice in the trial courts of the state;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on the General Rules of Practice be, and hereby is, established to consider and recommend deletions from, additions to, and modifications of the General Rules of Practice for the disitrict Courts and the Local Rules for each of the ten judicial districts;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following persons be, and hereby are, appointed as members of the Supreme Court Advisory Committee on General Rules of Practice for the terms indicated:

Sue Alliegro, Saint Paul (1 year term) Ronald C. Anderson, Willmar (1 year term) Honorable Russell A. Anderson, Crookston (2 year term) Steven J. Cahill, Moorhead (2 year term) Hon. Lawrence T. Collins, Winona (1 year term) Hon. James D. Gibbs, Anoka (2 year term) Joan M. Hackel, Saint Paul (2 year term) David F. Herr, Minneapolis (2 year term) Charles T. Hvass, Jr., Minneapolis (1 year term) Honorable A.M. Keith, St. Paul Phillip A. Kohl, Albert Lea (2 year term) Hon. Roberta K. Levy, Minneapolis (1 year term) Ellen L. Maas, Minneapolis (1 year term) Honorable George A. Marshall, Marshall (1 year term) Honorable George O. Petersen, Saint Paul (1 year term) Gerald J. Winter, Hastings (2 year term)

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Honorable A.M. Keith shall serve as chair of the Advisory Committee, David F. Herr shall serve as Reporter, and Michael B. Johnson of the Office of State Court Administrator shall serve as staff.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the terms set forth in this order shall commence on August 1, 1992.

Dated July 17, 1992

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

IE COURS BY/

A.M. Keith Chief Justice

JUL 17 1992

FILED